Uncategorized

Just a girl and her dog..living the life

If today had a tagline, ^ that would be it.

Cheesy. So, so cheesy. I can be quite the cheeseball sometimes. But what is life if you can’t enjoy the small things and make them the big things?? I’ve taken to saying to my students lately, “What is the point of life if you’re not going to put your all into everything you do??” And I normally say this while they’re supposed to be analyzing poetry or working to uncover a new math concept. It’s a lot to expect their young brains to understand, but I’m hoping the constant repetition will sink in! Cuz, really, what is the point of life if you’re not going to give 100% to everything you do?

Anyway. Tangent aside, we had our first Virginia snow day! It truly was laughable. But in the best way possible. All the snow was melted by 11am, but I always vote for safety so I’m all for the decision! And I always vote for fun days off, too.

Kato and I spent the day learning Spanish (through Rosetta Stone offered through my district – so lucky to be one of the first 70 people to sign up and get access!), stretching and mastering some yoga poses, watching a Netflix movie, making egg-free cookie dough to eat from the bowl, getting some last minute things together for the rest of my lesson plans for the week, making Spanish flashcards/labels to put around my apartment, running 4 miles, making pesto pizzas with sausage and cheese on pitas for dinner, and going to our Level II dog training class.

It has to top the list as one of my best snow days ever.

Now, some people say that they wouldn’t know what to do with themselves if they didn’t have a job. My comment on that is simply to reply that I am truly not one of those people!!! Of course I LOVE my job and feel blessed to be doing something that I enjoy, but I’m not going to say that my job/work isn’t exactly that – even with all the fun and great moments that come with teaching, I would still consider it to be a good amount of work. (If it was just my students and I in a classroom all year with a list of things to learn, I probably wouldn’t classify it as work because that’s the fun part. With all the other ‘stuff’ that teachers have to do though, that’s the part that makes it WORK.) Anywayyy, enough defending myself here. I think there are so many purely fun things to do in the world that if I didn’t have a 40-hour a week job (or in my case 50, 60, or 70 haha),  I don’t think I’d ever get bored! But at the same time, some people find running to be akin to torture, so to each his own.

 

Rambly should forevermore be my nickname! Oh! One more thing – I was thinking today as I clicked onto my site that I would post much more often if there were an easier way to post picture to this site! I just haven’t found a great way to take pictures and easily upload them here that same day. If I could find something that works for me I could see myself writing little snippets more here and there. I’ll have to look into it.

Alright, in the spirit of randomness, I’ll sign out with a good old: Roger that. And to all a good night.

Leave a Reply

