Uncategorized

My Love Story

…..with a salad!

IMG_4066

Since the beginning of this school year, I’ve been making versions of the same salad almost every single day! I love it and don’t think I’ll ever get tired of it!!! I found the above picture from months ago and I have a similar one from a few days ago. Yes, I might have a problem with taking pictures of my food – I think I take a picture of everything I eat lol. I can’t help it! I love food.

Here’s what the salad is:

Huge amount of spinach (between 2 and 4 cups depending on if it’s a side salad or my meal)

Green peppers

White onion

Craisins

1 Tbsp of Gazebo Room Greek dressing

Those are the constant ingredients I always use, but some other great add-ins that I love to use when I have them are avocados, celery, chicken, turkey lunch meat, sliced almonds, cucumbers, tomatoes, mozzarella cheese, salmon, and strawberries.

Here are some of the other variations I’ve made over the past few months.

IMG_4676
Classic with lots of veggies on top
Add-ins of pasta, zuchinni, salmon, and potatoes! This one was really different but still yummy!
Add-ins of pasta, zuchinni, salmon, and potatoes! This one was really different but still yummy!

For my lunch at school. I got this great salad shaker from a 5k event that I went to a few months ago.
For my lunch at school. I got this great salad shaker from a 5k event that I went to a few months ago.
Avocado and chicken
Avocado and chicken
Cheesesteak salad! I didn't even use dressing on this one, just the meat and veggies cooked up
Cheesesteak salad! I didn’t even use dressing on this one, just the meat and veggies cooked up

 

Yesterday's salad. Strawberries and sliced almonds go so well together
Yesterday’s salad. Strawberries and sliced almonds go so well together

I don’t see this love affair with these salads going away anytime soon! I make sure to always have spinach and Greek dressing and there’s always some awesome combination I can make.

As I’ve gotten more into weight lifting and fitness, I’ve been more and more conscious about what I put in my body as fuel. This doesn’t mean that I don’t still love cookies and cake and pizza, I’m just much better at having a balance in terms of food. I eat relatively clean about 75% of the time (to me, clean means fresh food that’s not processed) and then indulge whenever I want to. I’m still working on finding that perfect balance and not beating myself up when I do go a little overboard with the sweets or a portion size, but I’m really feeling great about my fitness journey. It’s definitely a lifestyle and something I’m so glad to be getting into now. I’ve read so much the past few months and it’s interesting to see so many different viewpoints. Some people say you’ll never reach your goals if you eat whatever you want on the weekends, and then I just read something yesterday that said what you eat during the week is what’s really important. Basically, what I take away from everything is that you need to have balance! Because it is a lifestyle, it needs to be something that can be done forever. What’s mainly working for me is keeping healthy and fresh ingredients at home and then thinking about what I’ve put in my body recently when I decide how to eat when I’m out with friends. I’m just overall happy with my progress and feeling excited for the future! Look at these muscles I’ve managed to grow!!

IMG_7650

 

 

Leave a Reply

