Fall, Random

October Fun

This month has gone by so quickly! I think a lot of it had to do with the fact that i started pre-student teaching on the 11th. I’m definitely not used to waking up at 6am every morning; I haven’t had to do that on a daily basis since high school! I was talking to one of my friends who also started pre-student teaching about how I felt like I couldn’t catch up on sleep. She pointed out that even though we now wake up at 6am, we still have the rest of our usual course load so we can’t go to bed any earlier. I’ve been trying to get more use out of my time so that I don’t end up doing work till 11 or 12pm, but sometimes it just doesn’t work.

My goal for this week is to go to bed by 10 or even 11 every night. Already I know I can’t do that every day, since I have a meeting starting at 9:30pm on Tuesday. Sigh, college life. =) I know this sounds like a lot of complaining but really I’m enjoying it a lot. It would be nice to catch up on sleep, but I’ve been in a constant good mood lately, so I can’t say I mind too much. Plus, I know I’ll look back on this hectic time in my life and remember it in the best way.

Even though I’ve been busy, I’ve still had enough time to enjoy this fall weather, go to a pumpkin patch (okay, roadside stand, but still), try out some new fall recipes, and really enjoy my pre-student teaching position. I really do love it so much and it’s such a cool experience. I have to teach my first lesson on Thursday. This is kind of a big deal because it’s the first lesson I’ll ever teach to an actual group of students!! Luckily, it’s only a small group of three students, so that’s a very nice way to ease into everything. The more nerve wracking thing will be having 4 adults watching me intently as I teach the students. Honestly, if it was just the students and I, I wouldn’t be nervous at all. I’m sure it will go great though, and I’m excited to get this first experience under my belt.

Here’s some pictures of what’s been going on in October:

My friends Anne, Elise, Elyse and I went shopping and all ended up buying so much stuff at Charlotte Russe because they were having a huge sale. I got four pairs of shoes for $7 each! Seriously, I’m amazed I didn’t buy every pair there. I love the ones I got so much though!

hahaha these next pictures kill me. We found a cardboard cutout and of course Elyse and I had to pose with it. Regular faces vs. tough faces. (The order I put them in doesn’t do the story justice, but this order made me laugh the most. Elyse actually smiled nicely for her picture, then for my turn I decided to make a tough face. Then the next picture is me laughing at my tough face. Then we had Elyse do a tough face too since it was so funny. But, yeah, this order is the funniest). We didn’t even buy anything in this store, we just ran inside, took tons of pictures with their cutout, and then went back out to keep walking around the mall.

Tailgating before the Homecoming game was really fun. We ate lots of pumpkin donut holes and had hot apple cider yum =)

And let’s take a minute to look at how photogenic Matt and I are. Man, great pictures haha. Elyse just took a bunch in a row of us being weird and they turned out so ridiculous. They make me laugh though.

Pumpkin picking and carving! Yay! I loved how my pumpkin turned out even though he fell apart after two days =( I’ll have to work on the structural soundness of mine next year.

THON 5K!

October has been such a fun month and it really has gone by so fast. I was doing homework for my math class today and I realized that we only have 4 more homeworks due! That’s how I’m measuring time lol, but really I feel like I just did my first homework for that class last week.

Let’s talk about one more thing..the SNOW YESTERDAY! I so did not expect that! I’m really glad that I did fall-ish things before it became winter all of the sudden. I did want to decorate for fall more, but I’ll have to have that goal for next year. Looks like I can start decorating for Thanksgiving though! Can’t believe it’s only a few weeks away.

xoxo,

Sarah

2 thoughts on “October Fun”

  1. It’s the middle of the month, I think you should put up a random post of some of your fun photos you have taken – the mouth watering food and the football game and your new raincoat!! And have you read my recent post on My Evident Faith? Go read 🙂 Love you ~

Leave a Reply

