Crafts, Decor, Family

First Room Decoration

I LOVE what my sister and I made for my room. We spent a few hours working on it when she was here and I think it turned out great.

Presenting…..

my pennant banner!!!

It’s the first decoration in my completely white room so it’s pretty exciting. =)

There are a million and one pennant banner tutorials out there, so I know it isn’t necessary for me to explain how I made this. However, I thought it’d be fun to show the step-by-step of how a pennant banner is made in a college student’s apartment. I didn’t even follow one of those 1,000,001 tutorials; I just knew to cut out triangles and put them on some kind of stringing thing and hang them up. So that’s what I went by and it was all very scientific.

_________________________________

Step 1: Buy fabric. It’s not imperative that you get lost and end up in a Jo-Ann Fabrics parking lot and buy your fabric at that time, but if you’re following what we did exactly then you’d need to do that too. A and I picked 5 coordinating fabrics that we thought represented me well and would look pretty in my room. We weren’t sure how much of each fabric to get, but we ended up getting 1/3 of a yard of each. I thought that wouldn’t be enough at first, but it ended up being more than we needed, which worked out well. This is 3 of the 5 fabrics we chose.

_________________________________

Step 2: Measure fabric.Our fabric pieces were each around 44 inches long, so we decided to make our triangles about 8 inches wide at the top. I measured along the fabric on the top and bottom edge and (now this is the technical part) made dots with my highlighter every 4 inches. Be sure to use yellow highlighter and sometimes make the dots so light that you cant see them and have to guess where they are. Well, I didn’t do that on purpose but it worked out anyway. I marked every 4 inches so that I would know where the points were in relation to the top part of the triangle. This way, we could connect the dots in a zig zag fashion and get twice as many triangles.

_________________________________

Step 3: Connect your dots and cut along those lines. First, get a Macbook Pro box to use as a hard surface and then get a desk calendar to use as a straightedge. I connected the dots with pencil, going up and down diagonally. So I drew the lines in a way that essentially looked like this: /\/\/\/\/\/\/\

My cuts weren’t perfectly straight, but it didn’t matter at all. You can’t even tell now that it’s hanging up.

_________________________________

Step 4: Continue drawing lines and cutting along them for what seems like forever. Listen to Tik Tok Radio on Pandora while doing this. Also, smile when your sister takes a picture of you and tells you to make a serious face.

(Yes, those are Post-It notes taped onto my window screen. There were holes in it when I moved in and I didn’t want bugs to come in. The obvious solution was to tape Post-Its over the holes and it has worked great so far. Also a great look overall. Very classy.)

_________________________________

Step 5: Hand the cut triangles to your sister as you go. She will iron them very nicely. We thought about putting a backing on the triangles for about one second, until we realized we probably wouldn’t have enough fabric for that and also we didn’t feel like doing more work. Turns out we most likely did have enough fabric for that, but oh well. Ironing them really made them keep their shape and since I hung them against a wall, you can’t see through them or anything. Ironing them really made a huge difference, so this is the one step I wouldn’t skip if I were you. Well, I’d recommend not skipping the step where you cut out the pieces either, or even measuring them, those are both pretty important. Actually most of the steps are. Moving on.

_________________________________

Step 6: Find a random bunch of white ribbon in your drawers and decide to use that as the base of the banner. Then, using a hot glue gun, glue the ironed triangles to your length of ribbon. We first made sure the ribbon was the right length to fit in the place we wanted to hang it, of course. Pro tip: have your sister hold the ribbon on either side of the length you’re glueing at the moment. If you don’t, the ribbon will react to the heat of the glue by shrinking and curling up on itself. Once you glue the fabric down though, it stays perfectly.

Ta-da! You have a finished banner!

P.S. I painted that painting a few years ago. I took it off of my wall at home and brought it up here to try to fill up some of the white space.

P.P.S. It’s hanging on a push pin.

P.P.P.S. The banner is also hanging with the help of push pins. Just one on either end and you’re good to go. They’re clear though, so again, very classy.

This was really fun to make. I had a few extra triangles so we also hung some more banners over my desk and outside my door. It was like a banner explosion, but in a good way. I definitely need some more things on my walls, but I think this is a very good start.

xoxo,

Sarah


3 thoughts on “First Room Decoration”

  1. I love the banner!! And I am in a class full of students being taught by an amazing jazz musician, and I LAUGHED out loud at your funny tips. Its a good thing the kids are playing their instruments or they would have heard me!!

Leave a Reply

